How to Plan Your Schedule for Exercise

After wasting a lot of time trying to establish an exercise routine in the evenings after work, I’ve finally decided to try going to the gym first thing in the morning. Several things have helped me reach the conclusion that this is the best option, but most notable is the fact that my employer has arranged a reduced-price membership at a gym that’s just a few blocks away from our office.

I’ve already gone a couple of times, since the gym gave me some guest passes to try out the facilities. I’m impressed: in fact, I’m pretty psyched up about it; the gym has some Expresso virtual reality bikes that are a lot of fun. Since I already drive into town early (mostly so I can do reading for my classes before work), I’m already getting up early, and so all I need to do is tweak my schedule by about 15 minutes and I’ll be all set.

The issue for me has always been getting organized enough to make this a daily routine. I’ve had problems with this for years, but I never have problems scheduling my work. I finally realized that I need to write it down: that is, make a schedule or a to-do list and follow through. I think I can finally make this happen. Exercising at lunch isn’t feasible because I don’t want to sit at my desk all afternoon after working up a sweat, although I do go for walks at lunch. And after-work routines usually lasted only about a week and a half before being shoved aside in favor of making dinner, since if I exercised and then started cooking it would end up being 9:00 p.m. before we ate dinner. That just wasn’t a workable schedule.

I’ve put together some tips for anyone who is having problems finding time to exercise. You can read my article at How to Plan Your Schedule for Exercise

Shared via AddThis

Leave a Reply

