Playing with Photos

billboard photo of a cockatiel

I used PhotoFunia to put Zim on a billboard poster.


I’m trying to break through the pack ice of my creativity and see if I can break loose a few ideas. The problem with getting caught up with the idea of trying to sell your creative work, whether it’s writing or photography, is that you start to think in terms of whether or not you can sell a piece. I’m trying to back far enough away from that mindset so that I can take some throw-away pictures and see if I can come up with something fun. I’m trying not to think of it as a waste of time, because it really isn’t.

Having a smartphone with a camera has given me a “toy” to play with, as far as photography is concerned. Since I’m not carrying around my big camera I don’t feel like I have to produce a really good photo. It’s no big deal if the photo doesn’t turn out well because there’s no danger of it being “wrong.” So I take pictures of my birds occasionally simply because they’re available as (more or less willing) models. This usually gives me a bit of a challenge because they tend to move around a lot, and they can change from oh-so-cute little fluff balls into the meanest, angriest birds you’re likely to see this side of that popular game. Small they may be, but let me tell you, they know exactly where to bite your hand. And forget that nonsense about not biting the hand that feeds you — these birds have never heard that expression and wouldn’t understand it, either.

Zim poses for a Xolaroid 2000 portrait.

This is the original photo taken with the Retro Camera phone app, using the Xolaroid camera.


Okay, so on to photography. I used my Droid smartphone and Retro Camera to take the picture of Zim, and then I used the PhotoFunia application to upload the image and paste Zim’s photo into this billboard. You can see some of the graininess in the black-and-white image compared to the smoothness of the color part of the image. The whole thing is a bit silly, but it might be useful for a creativity prompt. I’m thinking of experimenting with some more of my informal pictures to use them for the Thursday Writing Prompts posts. This one would be a bit of a head-scratcher for a story, but maybe that’s what creative folks need — a bit of a jolt to get pushed off from those mental icebergs.

3 thoughts on “Playing with Photos

    • He’s cute now, but he was a little devil when we first had him. He used to race forward and attack my hand and bite so hard he made me bleed. But he’s mellowing out. Last Thursday I was sitting on the sofa reading with a blanket pulled over my legs. Zim marched across the floor, looked up at me, and climbed up and sat on my knee. Then he got comfortable and started to nap. Talk about Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde!

      • Oh I totally understand.. Our pet galah loves my husband and is not much of a fan of me! He races accross to my feet if he is on the floor to attack them and if I am cleaning his cage he will try to bite me.. but I have found him to be a lot more mellow at other times it confuses me too 🙂 its so cute how he had a nap on your knee how nice!

Comments are closed.