WriMo in Training

I decided to take up the NaNoWriMo challenge this year. In case you don’t know what it is, National Novel Writing Month runs during the month of November. The goal is to complete 50,000 words of a novel during the month. This won’t necessarily be a completed manuscript, but it’s still a lot of words!

I have a project that I keep putting off because I have other writing work that takes center stage. I work full time and do freelance writing, so I have to fit that in. Then I’m taking graduate-level history classes. So I have to fit those term papers and tons of reading in. Since I’m only doing these three things, I cheerfully threw caution to the wind and decided to sign myself up for NaNo (as it’s affectionately called). I reckon it will be like taking a second class, without the reading or research.

I have a couple of weeks to mentally prepare for NaNo and get my butt in gear on my term paper, which is much farther along that it would be if I wasn’t doing NaNo.There’s nothing like a deadline to light a fire under a writer. Or burn him/her out. But I’m voting for the former.

Since there are 30 days in November, working on a novel during the month means writing 1,667 words per day, every day. If I want to take time off on the weekends, I need to write 50,000 words in 22 workdays, which works out to about 2273 words per day, or just over 9 pages of double-spaced text. Umm, maybe I’d better plan on working on this during the weekend, too. We’ll see. I probably write about 1,500-2,000 words a day now, easily, between freelance writing and class, so 2273 isn’t much of a stretch. It just sounds scary. Until then, it’s off to term-paper-land, with a mere 5,000 words to write.

3 thoughts on “WriMo in Training

  1. You’ll love it! Especially if you’re used to writing every day, that’ll make the challenge all that much easier. That’s not to say it isn’t a challenge (week three is the hardest for me), but it’s totally worth it and a lot of fun. Good luck this year!

  2. Haha yes, first week is by far the easiest (and IMHO the most fun, although week 4 could also be under the right circumstances… I’m usually too stressed and frantic by week 4 to really enjoy it). But no matter what it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

