NaNo Kickoff Party


I’m looking forward to NaNoWriMo, and now it’s less than two weeks away! Sunday I’m going to a regional kick-off party in Columbia and meet some of my fellow Maryland “Wrimos,” which is what participants in the writing madness are called. Honestly, I’m still pretty optimistic at this point about doing the program. It’s not about writing perfect prose and ending the month with a finished manuscript, it’s about writing 50,000 words. That’s 1,667 words a day. I can so totally do that!

I have a term paper that I’m working on for my graduate history class, and the draft isn’t due until the first week of December, but with NaNo coming up I didn’t want to drive myself too crazy and have two major projects to work on from scratch. The good news is that I have actually been working on the paper, and I have about six pages’ worth of stuff written. On Tuesday I went over to the library and wrote about 1,700 words. It’s pretty rough — it’s mostly notes, but it’s words on the page. The final page count for the paper is 20 pages, so I’m nearly a third of the way into it. My goal is to have 10-12 pages written by October 31, which is looking very possible.

Leave a Reply

