The Final Week

Fearless Geyser sign

Be fearless, fellow WriMos! This is the final week, and you still have three days to cross the finish line!

Today brings us into the final week of NaNoWriMo. Of course, if you count weeks as seven days, then it doesn’t start officially until tomorrow. But since it’s Monday I’m starting with today. Only three days left! Right now my word count is just a smidge over 57,000. For anyone out there doing NaNo, you still have time to cross the finish line. Okay, it may be a bit much at this point if you’ve only written a few thousand words, but you can still push on and increase your word count.

I still need to validate my word count on the official NaNo site, but that’s icing on the cake. I keep reading that I should try to get to the point in my story where I can actually call it finished, so that’s what I’m striving for. I don’t think it’s going to happen because I have too many loose ends and I still haven’t quite figured out the entire plot. My characters are going through the motions, things are happening, but even I don’t know why!

But I’m going to try to push the story along as far as I can. I’m aiming for 3,000 words today, but tomorrow is going to be my big push. I’m calling it 10K Tuesday, and I’m aiming for writing 10,000 words in a single day. It’s a crazy goal, but not impossible. Actually doing it remains to be seen, but even if I get two-thirds that much it will be a milestone. The most I’ve written in one day was 5,600+ words, and that wasn’t incredibly difficult. I wrote some in the morning, some more at lunch, and again in the evening after dinner. I can do that tomorrow, too.

Just three more days. Get to your keyboard, and get typing!

