Thursday Writing Prompt No. 52

The Mississippi River, looking east from a bridge on Intestate 80,
crossing from Illinois into Iowa.

It’s been one year since I started the Thursday Writing Prompts. I hope they’ve given you something to jump-start your writing, or at least get some ideas twirling around in your head. I was looking for a photo to add to this week’s prompt and I dug this one out of my archive. It’s from our cross-country trip to Yellowstone from October 2010. Here, we’re crossing the Mississippi River from Illinois into Iowa. It’s appropriate because I’m reading Huckleberry Finn along with a group of other readers I’ve met on Club Nook. I’ve spent this summer cramming my head with classic literature and I’m not done yet by a long shot.

I first read Huckleberry Finn when I was about ten years old. My parents bought me three children’s classics from the drug store: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn, and Black Beauty. But I’ve pretty much avoided “classics” as an adult. Not because I have an aversion to them. Okay, maybe I did. Classic literature fell under the category of something that I “should do” because it would be good for me. So of course I didn’t read it.

In December 2010 I bought a Nook Color, and it came with several books. Last fall I decided to read Dracula for October. Then I read Pride and Prejudice. Then I got hooked on classics. And a friend invited me to Goodreads, and I’ve been tracking my progress ever since.

I’m going to be a bit lazy this week, since yesterday was my birthday I don’t feel like working too hard. But go to my 2012 Reading Challenge page and pick one of the books that I’ve read. Look it up online and then write a back-cover blurb for the book. You can find descriptions of the books on Goodreads as well as reviews, or check Amazon or other bookstore sites. A cover blurb should probably run about 250 words.

The point of this week’s prompt is to give you something to do. Like I said, I’m being lazy. But if you plan to write a novel or short story that you want to sell, you’ll need to be able to tell an agent or publisher what your story is about in 250 or so words. So, it’s good practice to try your hand at describing a story. Good luck, and let me know if you read any of the books I have, or look me up on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

