Bananas

image

I’m doing so much reading for my Renaissance and Reformation class that today I sort of rebelled. Instead of working on my essay that’s due on Sunday, I ignored it completely and spent time looking for even more books on Amazon. I have four essays for this class, and I have books for the first two of them, so I needed to find books for the other two. Plus assorted supporting materials, of course! And because Amazon was having a 4-for-3 sale on the Oxford Very Short Introduction series, I picked up The Tudors, Martin Luther, Stuart England, and Machiavelli.

I also purchased Jacob Burckhardt’s The Civilization of the Renaissance in Italy. I have a PDF version, which we’re supposed to be reading for the class, but it’s a scan and some of it’s hard to read, so I’ve been avoiding it. Really, a 660-page PDF file is, er, daunting. And I can’t stand reading online. It’s ridiculous, because I do it all the time at work (I’m a copy editor), but for some reason reading a book on my monitor just drives me crazy. But I can deal with the eReader, I guess because I can move it around and not have to sit in the desk chair for hours on end. Some books I just prefer to have in the printed format, anyway.

For the essays, one of our papers is on the Renaissance and the other on the Reformation. There’s a bibliography that we’re supposed to pick from, so I ordered G.W. Bernard’s The King’s Reformation: Henry VIII and the Remaking of the English Church and Natalie Zemon Davis’s Trickster Travels: A Sixteenth-Century Muslim Between Worlds. Bernard’s book weighs in at over 700 pages, but the reviews sound really good. Davis’s work has been recommended to me, and I’m looking forward to learning a bit about Leo Africanus.

Next week I need to start looking for a larger bookcase. In the meantime, stacking the books on the living room floor works just as well. 🙂 Well, I suppose I should do something related to class today. I did finish Mirandola’s Oration on the Dignity of Man this morning, so maybe I’ll read the introduction to The Prince tonight. See you on Thursday!

