NaNo 2012, Day 27

I passed the 50,000-word mark!

Late yesterday afternoon I straggled over the 50,000-word mark and mentally collapsed. Today I’ve managed another couple of thousand words and I’m hoping to hit at least 60K by the end of the week. This is my second year doing NaNoWriMo, and my second win.

I had tasked myself with 80K this year, but I would need three 10K days, and I just don’t think that is going to happen. I’m having enough trouble getting this year’s story moving. I had written a synopsis at the end of October as a short outline for myself, but by NaNo day 3 the story was already running off in its own direction. New characters showed up and kidnapped children. Hey! That was not supposed to happen. But that’s NaNo.

So I’m basking in my glory for a few minutes and taking a break to do some other computer things, then I’ll try to get in enough words to push past the 53K mark. For anyone who’s out there still struggling, just keep plugging away. You’ll still end up with more words than you started with on November first!

