File under “You’ll be sorry”

When I have a lot of things to do, I like to torment myself by adding more things to do to my already towering pile of commitments. I learned from freelancing and running my own graphic design business that the only way to stay busy was to market yourself for the next project while you already had several in the inbox. It seems that if you go looking for a job when you’re not busy, desperation seeps into your voice and manners and scares off would-be customers. I don’t know if that’s true, but freelancing has always been a feast-or-famine thing for me.

So, last night, in an effort to fend off the fearsome “I don’t have anything to do” doldrums, I filled out an application to give a talk on airships at the Steampunk World’s Fair in May. If it goes through, I’ll probably be a nervous wreck the moment after I get up in front of the group. Or on the drive to New Jersey.

In the meantime, I have a dozen encyclopedia articles to research and write, and a graduate paper on airships in World War I. And I have a finished NaNo novel to edit and a second NaNo novel to finish writing. Maybe I should look for an agent; that would also give me something to do. And a deadline. Can’t get anything done without them, anyway, right?

Want to help? Let me know what aspect of airships you’d be most interested in from a Steampunk point of view. History? Technical details? Airships in literature, movies, and art? How to build your own? Ha, just kidding about that last. No, not really. I have a model Graf Zeppelin to put together, once I figure out which paint I should use on it. I haven’t been able to find a color photo of the envelope color, so I may have to go by pictures of later airships unless I can find a good description.

Leave a Reply

