Reading Challenge, 2013

I’ve set my Goodreads reading challenge for 2013 at 48 books. I think last year I started it at 36, then once I passed that I incremented it to 48 and then to 52. I finished out 2012 with 50 books under my belt, not counting partial books and magazine articles and scholarly papers. This year might be about the same, and although I don’t feel like I’m reading as much I’ve already chalked up 5 books as finished. It helps that two of those were quite short, but that kind of offsets the 700+ page history books that are cluttering up adorning my office.

I’m hoping to have some time to get in some fun reads again this year. I took a two-month break from studying last summer and packed in a few novels. This year I’m not going to take a break, since I’m hoping to finish out my other classes and begin my thesis class at the end of the year. My goal is to finish and graduate next spring. Unfortunately the London trip that I wanted to take this year is going to have to wait until next year, but that means it will be a graduation present. Until then, I have a lot of reading and some writing to do.

