Thursday Writing Prompt No. 74

These ivy leaves in my yard were frosted with ice and looked like little hearts.

These ivy leaves in my yard were rimmed with ice crystals
and looked like little hearts.

Happy Valentine’s Day! It’s unusual for one of the Thursday Writing Prompts to fall on a holiday (other than Thanksgiving) so I found what I thought was the perfect image for today’s holiday.These ivy leaves are shaped just like Valentine’s hearts and the ice even looks a little bit like frosting.

Last Sunday my husband was successful in getting me up early so we could go out and go grocery shopping. Lured out of bed by the promise of a hot breakfast that I didn’t have to cook, I spotted these ivy leaves next to the driveway and decided to take a picture of them.

But when my phone’s camera didn’t produce the results I wanted, I ran back inside for my trusty Nikon Coolpix. The SLR would have been better because I could have changed the aperture to adjust the depth of field, but the batteries needed to be charged. Anyway, I managed to get a few nice photos from the Coolpix without spending too much time on the unplanned photography excursion.

ivy leaves

I cut the smaller leaf out of the larger photo and used a Bokeh filter in Photoshop to blur the surrounding vegetation.

I spent some time manipulating the image with plug-in filters in Photoshop. The larger photo at top is just cropped from the original image. For the smaller image at right, I cropped the image even more so the smaller leaf would be at the center of the image. Since it was originally at the bottom of the photo this didn’t give me the option of making the photo much larger than this.

Next, I used one of the Topaz Lens Effects Bokeh filters to blur the edges. Having the other leaves out of focus creates an emphasis on the center of the image. I experimented with changing the hue to make the leaf red, but it ended up looking bloody and I didn’t want my Valentines art turning into a zombie-inspired nature print. Ugh.

Now, on to the writing prompt. In honor of Valentine’s Day, write a verse for a greeting card. Your love poem should rhyme and include the following words: love, heart, and sweet. The rest is up to you.

Leave a Reply

