Writing Tasks for April

A beautiful autumn day in Colorado's Rocky Mountains, with golden aspen trees.

A beautiful autumn day in Colorado’s Rocky Mountains, with golden aspen trees.

I’ve been buried under writing assignments and other work, so I haven’t been keeping up with the Thursday Writing Prompts. But a new one will debut this week, so stay tuned! In the meantime, I’ve set myself a goal to finish editing my 2011 NaNo novel by the beginning of June.

I’m going to try for a traditional publishing route instead of self-publishing, so at some point I’m going to start looking for an agent, too. There are different opinions on whether to search out an agent while the writing and editing is still in progress or to wait until the book is completely finished and then start looking. The basic story is done, but as I’m editing and fixing continuity problems I realize that it would be easy to keep rewriting the book forever, so it is ever really done? I guess knowing when to step away from the keyboard is a big problem.

I’ve gotten some excellent feedback from a writing group I belong to on the first 11 chapters, most of which is along the lines “you overwrite and explain too much.” Well, it’s a lot easier to cut out stuff than to go back and fill in holes. But since I put the novel aside for a while I’m finding that it’s a lot easier to see what the reviewers were talking about. The characters are also feeling more like distinct personalities and it’s easier to see where dialogue or actions don’t work properly.

I have my work cut out for me this month. This week I have a literature review to do for my graduate class on World War II, and I have five more encyclopedia articles to write by the end of the month. In the meantime there’s a ton of reading for class, too, and that’s on top of a full-time job. Somehow I will fit in editing my novel and getting on the treadmill at least three times a week. There are enough hours in the day, I just have to get better organized. See you on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

