Airships and More Airships

Airship over a bridge.

Antique postcard showing an airship over a bridge.

Today I’m working on finishing up the slide presentation part of my airship talk that I’ll be giving on Sunday.

I will be presenting  Airships in Literature: Floating into the Future on Sunday afternoon at 2:30 p.m. It’s not going to be an academic discussion, and the slideshow isn’t going to be a bunch of bullet points that you’ll have to memorize. I hope to introduce some of you to the kinds of literature out there that features airships.

My focus for the talk is on writers of the Victorian era and the early 20th century, so I won’t be discussing airships in modern Steampunk literature. There’s plenty of material there for another talk (or several), so maybe that could be a topic for next year’s Steampunk World’s Fair.

 

2 thoughts on “Airships and More Airships

  1. Hi Karen, I am very interested in this topic as it relates to one of my proposed chapters in M(res) on the development of the airship post WW1. I am highly interested in examing how public perception of the airship effected its acceptance as a means of transport/weapon system during the 1920/30’s.

  2. Hi Paul,

    Most of my research on airships has been focused on their use in World War I as a terror weapon. But there was quite a bit of literature that included airships and there were even poems.

    I’m curious what M(res) is. Can you tell me more about it? I may be able to suggest some bibliographic sources for you, and now that I see there is interest in the airships I can do a follow-up post on them. Thanks for reading!

Comments are closed.