Life is Like a Cactus…

image

… just when you’re getting comfortable and thinking that things are going swell, something sticks a pin into your good-mood bubble. This year has been horrible for me as far as dental and medical bills go. And the freelance side work that I have been doing has dried up recently, so I really don’t have any extra funds to help cover bills. If I have any advice for you, it’s this: always ask your doctor or dentist if a particular test is necessary and how much it will cost. Insurance won’t cover everything, and I’m not even going to get into the argument on health care except to say that it will cost more, one way or the other.

This week I need to get back into the writing groove and that includes freelance writing and the weekly Thursday Writing Prompt. I’ve been busy writing analyses and research papers for my master’s history classes as well as a few encyclopedia articles. I’m also midway through editing my first novel and I’m pushing to finish it in four more months. The good news is that the more I work on it, the cleaner the writing is becoming, and my protagonist is starting to get interesting. He’s not the two-dimensional character he was, although he still has some developing to do — but that should unfold in the course of the novel. See you on Thursday.

Leave a Reply

