A Sunflower Named Helsinki

We’ve been working on remodeling the house for awhile now, and the downstairs bathroom is going to be turned into a laundry area/half bath. We have two bathrooms upstairs and so the one on the first floor doesn’t get used very often, especially as it’s being remodeled. But I do still keep sundries in the cabinet, even if it’s no longer our only bathroom, especially first-aid things and dental floss.

Sunflower-peeking-out

So, after dinner I went into the downstairs bathroom for some dental floss, and I noticed a sunflower seed in the sink. Then I see what looks like a piece of green paper by the drain. Now, I was in there earlier today and there was nothing in the sink, and neither of us has eaten any shelled sunflower seeds, so it was a mystery as to how it got there. Then I bent to look at the green piece of paper, which looked like a leaf. On closer inspection it looked like a pair of folded leaves, and that’s when I realized it was a sunflower — growing out of the sink drain!

Okay, I guess I might have wrung out a cloth after cleaning around the bird cage. There are plenty of sunflowers in with their cockatiel seed mixtures, and I probably washed one down the sink by accident. It’s the only explanation that I can come up with. Of course, this sunflower couldn’t stay in the sink, but I wanted to pull it out without destroying it.

Sunflower-and-roots.
I pulled the stopper up as high as I could and gently grasped the leaves and pulled. The plant came out easily enough, but I kept pulling … and pulling … and still it kept on coming! The plant was a good six inches long, with well-developed roots and even a second set of leaves coming out of the root ball!
Sunflower-and-bowl
There was no way I could just chuck this determined plant into the trash or out into the yard, so I found a plastic soup bowl and potted it up. My husband started making jokes about the sunflower and named it Helsinki. I put Helsinki up in my office on the windowsill, and I’ll leave it for a few days until it gets a bit greener and sturdier. After that I’ll put it outside for a few hours at a time so it can adapt before I transplant it into my yard. I want Helsinki to be big enough that the snails or rabbits won’t get it when I plant it outside. It’s only been about three hours, but I think the leaves are starting to open up already, and the stem is definitely curved toward the window, even though it’s midnight!

One thought on “A Sunflower Named Helsinki

  1. Pingback: Sunflowers | Focal Plane

Leave a Reply

