Words like Leaves

A sweetgum leaf overlaid with a rainbow that I photographed on my office wall.

A sweetgum leaf overlaid with a rainbow that I photographed on my office wall.

‘Tis the season! It’s officially fall here in the Northern Hemisphere and that means the leaves and starting to come down. There is always at least one tree in my neighborhood that gets frightened and drops all its leaves in the last days of summer, and there’s always at least one (usually an oak tree) that holds on to its carbonaceous wealth until the middle of January or so.

I’m busy in the middle of several writing projects, including more than a dozen encyclopedia articles on a variety of historical subjects, a short story for an anthology, and editing my 2011 NaNo novel. I plan to finish the editing on that this fall if I have to duct tape myself to my chair until it’s done. I’m thinking hard about whether to embark on another novel project in November, but common sense tells me not to overload myself. The artistic part of me yearns for yet more creative options. In a nutshell, I haven’t decided whether I’m going to do NaNo this year, but it’s a lot of fun.

This week I’ll be working on an elevator pitch for the novel and hashing out the details at a writer’s group meeting on Wednesday.

