The Thesis Begins

Yesterday was the first day of my final class at American Military University, HIST699 Thesis. In just about eleven weeks I have to write a thesis of between 80 and 120 pages on my topic, then spend the remainder of the sixteen-week class editing and revising as needed. It’s going to be tough, but I’m counting on the experience I gained doing NaNo two years in a row to keep driving me toward my word count goals.

With the new year, I’ve set a goal of reading 52 books this year for my Goodreads challenge. Perhaps this year I’ll get more recreational reading in, but I will keep reading big history books, too. I’m too interested in this stuff to stop just because a class might be over. I’m a firm believer in the idea that education should never stop and that you should not allow anyone to tell you that you are too old or too unprepared to tackle anything that interests you.

I will be posting new Thursday Writing Prompts soon, so keep an eye out for them. I’m also considering consolidating the first hundred prompts into an ebook format and expanding them a bit, so that’s another project for this year. Stay warm and keep reading!

Leave a Reply

