Post-vacation Blues

Stonehenge.

Stonehenge.

It’s always rough to come back from vacation and get started back into the workaday routine. I missed my pets and the comfort of being surrounded by my own stuff, but that’s about it. I sure didn’t miss my neighborhood with its ridiculous amounts of loud noise or the horrendous humidity of the Washington, D.C., area. Yes, I know other places are worse, but that’s not particularly reassuring. I had adjusted to lower temperatures and humidity and the night we arrived home it was nearly 77 degrees at Dulles airport and according to one weather app it was nearly 100 percent humidity.

I spent the last two weeks touring London, Bath, Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Edinburgh, the Scottish Highlands with a peek at Loch Ness (sans monster), Great Yarmouth, and Paris, collecting refrigerator magnets and the occasional posh souvenir. The weather was generally nice, although it did rain a couple of days, prompting me to purchase a souvenir Cutty Sark umbrella from Greenwich. I took a raincoat but it never quite made it out of the luggage and it hogged way too much space in the suitcase. I could have bought more souvenirs…

Now that vacation is over I plan to make a packing list for my next trip based on the things I took and the things I never used. I used a gym bag for my carry-on luggage, but next trip it’s definitely going to be a real piece of luggage with wheels. Even at fourteen pounds, the bag seemed much heavier and the nylon strap dug into my neck.

Well, it’s time to settle back into my writing routine. I’ll be posting some photos from the trip along with new posts. Look for the next installment of the Thursday Writing Prompt later this week.

