Thursday Writing Prompt No. 105

My latest crochet project.

My latest crochet project.

We’re well into fall and the leaves are already turning colors. I’ve been on a crochet kick lately and I’ve been making leaves from 100 Lace Flowers to Crochet by Caitlin Sainio. I have so many long-term projects on my desk right now that making a leaf or flower each day or a couple of times a week gives me a feeling that I’ve completed something. I also think I’m using the crochet as a way to focus my mind — a sort of creative meditation that helps me settle my thoughts and get down to work.

Since I’m inspired by the leaves, this week’s Thursday Writing Prompt will be, too. Wikipedia’s List of trees entry includes varieties of trees from around the world. Some of the trees have stories associated with them, such as the Guilty Chinese Scholartree in Jingshan Park, China, and the Queen Elizabeth Oak in Hertfordshire, England. Your task is to pick one of these trees with an ancient history and rewrite its story as a modern-day urban legend. The point-of-view and word count is up to you.

