Winter, Weather, and Writing

My Norn character in Guild Wars 2

My Norn character in Guild Wars 2, Freya Stohrm, poses in her new outfit in celebration of the Lunar New Year.

I keep telling myself to get out and do some exercise. I have all the best intentions of walking at lunch and eating smaller portions of food, but the weather has been rather cold. People in other parts of the country may laugh but here in the Washington metro area it’s not very often that we get subfreezing temperatures for many days in a row, and the wind chill is making it even worse.

I have started to get back into running on my treadmill but so far I’ve not done enough to even pretend to call it a habit or even a workout. I did something, and that’s about it. My plan is to work through the Six to Start Zombies, Run! 5K training program and finish it by the end of March, at which point I should be able to run an entire 5K distance without walking.

I’ve started this program three times now. The second time was right before vacation and I ran out of time, but I made it to the end of week 6. I’ve sort of jump started myself and did two of the week one workouts and started week two workouts on Monday. There are three workouts per week over the eight-week program.

So what does this have to do with writing? Well, exercise is supposed to be good for mental health as well as physical health. I haven’t had much inspiration yet from running but I do feel better and my legs hurt less from sitting so much, which means when I do sit down at the keyboard I can focus on my writing and not wriggle about because I’m in pain.

Tomorrow I’ll post a Thursday Writing Prompt and spend time working on a short story that I want to submit to an anthology of stories about Moriarty.

