Running from zombies … again

I started the Zombies, Run! 5K training program again this January and I’ve been struggling to get to a point where I’m truly consistent with the workouts. I know I should do the exercises first thing in the morning to avoid having things during the day mess up my schedule, but it just doesn’t happen.

It also doesn’t help that some days I work downtown and some days I telecommute, and on those days I work at home I sure don’t get up at 5:20 a.m.! Worse, I’m having trouble with insomnia and I go to bed and toss and turn and thrash for about three hours before I fall asleep. I don’t want to take sleeping pills, but I’ve got to get a handle on my schedule.

I think the running is helping with that, so the more consistent I can get the better off I’ll be all around. I’m still running slowly — 2.7 mph is the speed I use for my runs, but it lets me complete all of the runs without dropping to a walk. Today I just finished the Week 5, Workout 2 of the training program.

I’d hoped to finish the 8-week program by the end of March but now it looks like I’ll need the first week in April to complete it, but that’s okay. I’m satisfied with my progress right now because I am running and the slow speed is keeping shin splints at bay. I’ve scheduled my next run for Tuesday and on Thursday I’ll begin the week 6 workouts.

