Is it finally spring?

Crocus-group_DSC_0890
The weather has been so strange this year. Just a week ago it snowed. I went to the Mid-Atlantic Conference on British Studies in Baltimore and on Saturday afternoon we were treated to snow flurries. Plus, it was bitterly cold and windy. Walking from the conference center back to the hotel where I had parked my car was nearly unbearable. The only thing that kept me from running back to the garage was the thought that I would fall prey to cold-induced asthma, so I pulled my scarf over my ears and kept trudging.

Today the temperature is in the 70s and I’m ready to turn on the air conditioner. As soon as it gets warm here in the Washington metro area the humidity shoots up and it just gets gross. Of course, it rained today so the humidity is high, but pretty much from now until next October it’s going to be humid. Ugh.

On a positive note, it looks like spring is finally here. My lone yellow crocus survived the cold snap and has been joined by about twenty other crocuses in a variety of spring colors. I think the harsh winter gave me spring fever, because today I went to a local nursery and got a narcissus plant for indoors and a new planter for my African violet. And a pair of pink flamingos for the front yard. I may have spring fever, but it seems that I’ve been bitten by the retro bug, too.

Leave a Reply

