Thursday Writing Prompt No. 122

I used a stamp pad, metallic gel pens, and markers to create this flower.

I used a stamp pad, metallic gel pens, and markers to create this flower.

This week’s Thursday Writing Prompt will have you make art in an attempt to do some creativity cross-training. I’ve come to a bit of a sticking point with my novel in that I had to go back and weave in some back story to make it work throughout the book. And then I still have to figure out exactly how some of the back story is going to come through.

I’ve taken a few days away from editing mostly because I’ve been swamped at work and I just need time away from the keyboard. But I’ve also been getting into art lately. I bought Art Journal Courage by Dina Wakley and read it through. Now I’m going back and trying some of the techniques. And guess what? Just as with National Novel Writing Month, the first thing you do with art is to shut that inner editor (painter? sculptor?) up and make a mess.

Only I’m finding that the art isn’t quite the mess I expect it to be. It’s helping me loosen up a bit, but I admit it’s not doing wonders for my wallet because, let’s face it, once you buy a stamp pad or two you simply must have all the colors!

So, back to the Thursday Writing Prompt. Find a piece of paper and pencil or pen. Doodle. Yep, that’s it. Draw some scribbly mess. When you’re done, look at it and try to imagine an image in the scribbles, much like you see shapes in clouds. Once you identify the shape, write a paragraph or two describing it. And if you can’t see a shape, then write about creating the scribble and what was going through your mind while you drew. Most of all, enjoy the process!

Leave a Reply

