Bad Weather Photography

I wanted to take a photo of these dark clouds because they looked very dramatic. It wasn't until after I made the shot that I realized there is a small funnel cloud just to the right of center.

I wanted to take a photo of these dark clouds because they looked very dramatic. It wasn’t until after I made the shot that I realized there is a small funnel cloud just to the right of center.

It’s been a tremendously busy spring for me, both at work and for my freelance writing, among other things. In May I went to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival in West Friendship, Maryland. I crochet, do a bit of weaving, and am learning to knit. Buying yarn becomes an obsession, as anyone will tell you! In any case, while at the festival I picked up a postcard for the Maine Astronomy Retreat and we’re going. I have a new Sony alpha 7 mirrorless DSLR and I can’t wait to try it out on astrophotography.

So, right after I signed up for the astronomy retreat, guess what? I was contacted to write an article about Carl Sagan for the forthcoming Salem Press Critical Survey of American Literature. Talk about synchronicity! And I also have a batch of technology articles to write for ABC-Clio’s Technical Innovation in American History: An Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, including ones on electricity/electronics topics and Yerkes Observatory. Yay! And yes, I’m nerding out. Time to put my high-school vocational electronics knowledge to work.

I have other writing projects in the queue as well, including a short story that will appear in an upcoming anthology of tales about black dog stories, three other short stories in progress, my novel, and a nonfiction book project. Whew. No wonder I have insomnia.

Water running down the car windshield made some interesting patterns.

Water running down the car windshield made some interesting patterns.

If my life has been a whirlwind, it’s no wonder that I managed to capture a photo of what appears to be a funnel cloud. Last week I was on my way to my music lesson (ukulele and recorder) when I stopped for coffee and a snack. It was hot and sunny when I went into the store, but as soon as I was back outside it clouded over and I could feel the temperature dropping. I turned around and saw these fantastic clouds, so I tried to capture them with my phone camera (yes, I should have taken the new Sony with me!). Looks like a small funnel cloud tried to form, but fortunately it wisped away into nothing.

I drove over to the music academy before the rain started and sat with my coffee. The pelting rain made some interesting patterns on the car windshield, so I tried to capture that, too. It’s not a terrific photo, but I like the moodiness and it’s good for inspiration. Bad weather can be a photographic gem; it just means that I need to be out and about more often. And yes, there was a rainbow:

Rainbow over Columbia, Maryland.

Rainbow over Columbia, Maryland.

Leave a Reply

