It Begins

november-noir
So I was talked into doing National Novel Writing Month again this year (I did 2011 and 2012). The idea was to write a noir story. I have a working title, Killing Palatino, and about 2100 words of prose that I’m really not very happy with. I think this story is going to be rough going, but I understand it’s just a draft and a lot of what is happening on the page is going to be edited within an inch of its literary life before the novel sees the light of day.

This year, instead of pantsing the whole book, I decided to write a brief outline. I had two weeks to get it done. Then one week. Then a day. Last night I sketched in a very short outline on a single-page plot sheet and decided it was enough to get moving on. Hey, I pantsed two whole books so if I have even the barest minimum of an outline to work from that should be enough, right? We’ll see.

At any rate, I’ve met the word-count goal for today and updated my word count on the official website. I think I’m going to play with cover ideas for the finished book in case that helps get my creative juices going. If that doesn’t work, I’m going to go work on my crochet project or clean the bird cage or factor quadratic equations. Because I can.

