Almost a New Year

I found this red armchair out in the middle of a stream in northern Maryland while on a trip to photograph covered bridges.

I found this red armchair out in the middle of a stream in northern Maryland while on a trip to photograph covered bridges.

This year has been mentally exhausting, and when I think about what I’ve actually accomplished I’m not sure that I’ve gotten enough bang for my proverbial buck. I’ve written a short story for Corrugated Sky‘s first anthology and started brainstorming a second, and I’ve completed a few encyclopedia articles. I dragged myself through NaNoWriMo and ended up with something that I will likely gut or trash rather than try to fix.

And I’ve worked. And worked, and worked some more. There have been so many projects at work I can’t keep track of what day it is. Can I sleep in? Yes, it’s a weekend. That’s about all I can manage to think about right now.

Here’s hoping that 2017 will start fresh with some energy for writing projects and getting things done. I’ve spent some time today setting some goals and listing the things I want to work on next year so I can keep them in sight. After all, nothing gets done without a deadline.

And speaking of deadlines, the office just closed so I am FREE! Until Tuesday. Until — next year! Happy New Year’s Day! I hope to be back with new writing prompts and perhaps some photo tips or artwork next year. But for now, it’s time to relax and play Guild Wars 2.

Leave a Reply

