My Paper Valentine

My crocheted heart on burlap and paper. Copyright 2017 Karen Garvin.

My crocheted heart on burlap and paper. Copyright 2017 Karen Garvin.

Happy Valentine’s Day. It’s a typical Tuesday for me, my coworkers in a dither over deadlines and a pile of non-work-related writing piled on my desk that make me wonder how I manage to get involved in so many projects at a time.

I made this little crocheted heart some time ago, and paired it with burlap and washi tape to create a Valentine design for the blog. The heart isn’t glued down because I plan to use the background with another crocheted piece that I made, which is a little brown seahorse made from crochet thread.

The photo is a bit on the brown side, but the actual heart is pale pink. These small art pieces are fun to make and give me something to do that I can finish and feel like I’ve accomplished something. The actual piece is about four inches square.

Enjoy the day, and don’t overindulge on those chocolates! I’m planning to make a special gin and tonic or strawberry martini tonight.

