Just Another Brick in the Face

Somehow, someone(s) has/have pretty much trashed my author page on Goodreads and I’m pissed about it. I put a lot of work into setting up that page, and for what? So someone else can mess it up in an instant? Great. Just great.

Why the hell do I even try to do anything? I spend time setting things up, trying to make my life a little better, just to see someone else come in and screw up everything. I either have to do a ton of work all over again, or just give up. Guess what I’m leaning toward right about now? I’m tired of getting dumped on and I’m tired of getting bricks in the face; I get enough of them at work to build a library.

So, having coauthored two anthologies and entries in several encyclopedias, I’ve been slowly but surely setting up my Goodreads author profile and book page. I logged in today because I need to start doing some serious marketing. And that’s when I found that three of the books I’d set up were gone, but a book about a baby was there by some other Karen Garvin. I do not write about children or babies, nor do I pretend to do so on TV.

I couldn’t find a way to remove that book from my author page, but I could edit the listing, so I changed its title to THIS IS NOT MY BOOK and sent a help email to Goodreads. I’m still faced with the fact that three of my books are gone and I’ll probably get saddled with having to redo them.

But this begs the question: Is it worth it to go through all that work of setting up my author page again if it’s so easy for someone else to take it all away? At least I can keep my Publications list up-to-date here on Focal Plane.

 

